USA Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  4.4
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.8
 Security & Safety  4.6
 Service & Staff  4.7
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  4.4

"Best Experience I could ask For"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Tori S. of Clemson, SC, United States
Reviewed:   January 22, 2020  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2020     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The staff was seriously amazing. We stayed for the National Championship game and the accommodations were phenomenal. Free breakfast and a short walk to Bourbon St? Perfect. The location was amazing and the facility is beautiful and historic

"Review of French Quarter & Jazz House"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Jerry V. of Elmhurst, United States
Reviewed:   January 21, 2020  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2019     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had the privilege of staying at both of their properties, in the French Quarter as well as Mid City. Having had this fairly unique privilege, allow me to provide this comparison below:

IHSP French Quarter House:
Located in a charming property down the street from the authentic Voodoo Museum in the heart of the French Quarter, staying here during Halloween / Voodoo Fest made my trip extra special because I ran into a lot of the festivities I would have missed staying elsewhere.

Besides, the community atmosphere of this place coupled with all the great guests and staff to provide me with the best Halloween I've gotten to experience as an adult. The breakfast was good, value was great, the owners are really cool too! Be sure to make friends with Nick & Nicole before you leave!

The one downside I have to say is that this place can get a bit rambunctious in the evenings (at least on Halloween!) so if you prefer a quiet hostel without much community interaction they actually have another property I'm describing below.

Jazz House:
Located in Mid City, steps from the Canal Streetcar Station, this location is prime for exploring everything outside the quarter from Magazine Street & Tulane to City Park and the Bayou.

A much quieter sister property of IHSP, the Jazz House is a no-frills hostel with everything you need from the living room with a big screen and gaming to clean bathrooms, bedrooms, etc. Still one of the best values in town, there's a good mix of people here as well and I got to meet some interesting folks from around the world but it's not like a party hostel or anything.

In fact, if that's what you're looking for, but you still want to be productive, I'd recommend spacing out your trip between both hostels if you're brave enough. I did this and while I was tired after the 10th day I have to say I would not change a thing.

"Great spot"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Isabelle P. of Québec, Canada
Reviewed:   January 20, 2020  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2020     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I book at IHSP French Quarter House for two main reasons :
1- to be in the French Quarter and be able to travel by foot
2- for easily meeting new people

I was very satisfied on these 2 aspects. Firstly, being able to get around easily, without worrying about public transport schedules, or the cost of a taxi, is a BIG advantage (Bourbon Street is less than 10 minutes walk). Secondly, the IHSP staff is very welcoming, they go to great lengths to connect people (thanks Nicole and Nick!). The backyard was a nice place for hanging out, and the New Year Eve party, in particular, was GREAT.

About the other points, I was in a dorm. So a lot of night owls, and a lot of early birds (nothing to surprise me), but with earplugs it was ok. The shared bathroom was cleaned every day

The breakfast on the spot was nice too, no need to go out early to get food.

To conclude, I highly recommend IHSP French Quarter House!

"Great Stay"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Emily M. of Alabama, United States
Reviewed:   January 3, 2020  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2020     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This is a really high value hostel. Great community and helpful staff. And excellent location!

"I had a great stay!"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Rocio H. of Seattle, United States
Reviewed:   November 23, 2019  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2019     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had a great experience as a female solo traveler. The location is great and you can walk everywhere. Staff members are so welcoming and you can tell they enjoy their jobs.
The rooms and beds are comfortable. The first night it was really cold but they have space heaters and extra comforters
Shout out to Nick, who organized an outing and took us to really cool bars with live music :)

"Great stay!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Judith G. of New caney texas, United States
Reviewed:   October 21, 2019  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2019     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It was our first time in New Orleans and I had a great time! The room was very clean, and the staff was amazing! The location is great, we didn’t had to walk a lot to get to bourbon street. It was an awesome stay!

"One nIGHT sTAY"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Peter W. of Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed:   October 16, 2019  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2019     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
gREAT pLACE
Just what we wanted, great Receptionist

"Great place, great people, greatest city!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Mariano A. of Médanos, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed:   October 9, 2019  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2019     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Had an awesome week in New Orleans, the Hostel was great and the people running it very friendly, polite and helpful.

"IHSP French Quarter House Review"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Joe M. of boston, MA, United States
Reviewed:   September 11, 2019  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2019     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
What? ... I never said I was a creative writer.
Great place to stay
Walking Distance from Bourbon Street (and other hot spots in the French Quarter
Street Car runs passed the house and the stop is a block away
Awesome cast of characters that work there
will definitely stay again
why are you still reading this Book the room already!

"Great location"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Al T. of Victoria, Australia
Reviewed:   September 8, 2019  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2019     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Location is awesome, right at the edge of the French quarter. Our room was nice and clean, couldn’t hear any noise from outside.
Our check in experience was average and pretty rushed. Overall would stay there again because the location was so good.


1 - 10 of 275 reviews  Next 10 results




USAInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us