USA Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.2
 Rooms  4.3
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.1
 Security & Safety  4.4
 Service & Staff  4.7
 Food / Dining  4.5
 Total  4.4

"Better than a five star"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Julienh C. of Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed:   June 1, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2012     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
A few days ago, as I was on holidays in New-York, I thought it'd be great to take the train to Portland (Maine) and drive along the coast. With my sister (we're both French, she lives in Tours -Loire Valley- and I live in Dublin -Ireland-)we booked a room at the Fleetwood House through.... We ha d barely opened the door around 6pm that we were greeted very warmly by the owner (husband) of the lovely little house two minute drive from the harbour of Portland. The living room was so welcoming and the room would under rate a five star hotel just by having a look at it. The bed? So somfy! We slept very well. In the morning, the owner (wife) had made breakfast. The dining area made us believing we were at home. The orange juice in wine glasses woke us up gently and the coffee was tasty. As we're cat lovers, we really enjoyed the company of their four leg friends! We so enjoyed everything that we had decided to reserve the room for a second unplanned night in Portland. And the following day, the superb home-made french toast with fresh fruits had been replaced by a delicious cooked to perfection omelette. We felt quite sad when we left. I must certainely sound like I'm over reacting and exagerating but please, do believe me when I say that I'm not. You're planning a couple of days in Maine, stay at the Fleetwooh House! You'll love it!! collapse

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Quaint little place"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Kathy C. of Gilmanton, United States
Reviewed:   September 18, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed at the Fleetwood because all the other places in Portland were booked. Was an old victorian type place. Very quaint. The owner was very nice. Our room was cozy but the bed squeaked terribly with every move. The furniture was a little dusty but not too bad. The door to our room kept sticking and we had a hard time opening it going in and out. The bathroom was down the hallway and a couple times we had to wait to use it because it was occupied. Breakfast the next morning was good other than the jar of jelly that had mold in it. Being a cat person, I didn't mind the residence cats at all. The location is on a side street off one of the main streets. It was fairly quiet.

"Comfortable"

User Rating:  3.6
Reviewer:   S R. of Boston, MA, United States
Reviewed:   July 27, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2011     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We had a good stay at this B&B. Our room was a little small but clean and well furnished and had a private bathroom. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

Some things to be aware of: it's several miles to downtown Portland (car needed), and the living spaces are shared with the owners and pets - all of whom are very nice!

"Cozy room in old New England house"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Sasha T. of Arroyo Grande, CA, United States
Reviewed:   November 30, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2010     Type:   Honeymoon/Romance
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We did not realize the bathroom was not en suite (in the room), but it was no problem, as the bathroom was just down the hall and there was no one else that we saw sharing it with us. The owners of the house are a delightfully friendly New England couple and it was a pleasure chatting with them over breakfast. The house is very comfortable and it feels like you are staying in a relative's home. It was a lovely way to start our trip, and we had no complaints. The breakfast was tasty and the owners try very hard to make you at ease and satisfy all your needs. I would stay there again if traveling in Portland.

"A beautiful B&B"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Melissa D. of Presque Isle Maine, United States
Reviewed:   October 5, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2010     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very homey and comfortable - delicious breakfast - pleasant people

"Beautiful Gardens"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Samantha B. of Sandown, United States
Reviewed:   July 29, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2010     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My husband and I enjoyed the gardens and flowers of the Fleetwood House. The Innkeepers were friendly and helpful too. It is near a busy street but we could not here anything with our A/C on or the windows shut. I'll be back next Summer.

"Charming and cozy bed and breakfast!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Christina M. of Wilmington, MA, United States
Reviewed:   July 27, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We booked the Fleetwood Bed and Breakfast over new years this year, and I have to say, we want to come back now that it is warmer out! The huge porch down the side of the house looked like a great place to stretch out with a book; Linda, the proprietor, was very warm and welcoming, and made us feel very at home. Linda is a GREAT cook!! As it was still cold out while we were there, we hung out in the cozy living room for a bit before we headed out for New years festivities. We booked the room with its own bathroom, and we loved it! There are cats wandering around, but I didnt smell them when I entered the house, as I thought I would. I think during our stay we only saw 2 of them. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and the bathroom very clean, and overall we had a very enjoyable visit. We would come again in a heartbeat!

"A place of quiet comfort"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Edwin G. of Fayetteville, Georgia, United States
Reviewed:   August 17, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We thoroughly enjoyed the quiet comfort of the Fleetwood House Bed & Breakfast. We were greeted warmly and provided with good information on Portland as we requested it. Breakfast was exceptional. We will recommend Fleetwood House to our friends who visit Portland.

"Fleetwood House Bed and Breakfast"

User Rating:  3.1
Reviewer:   Carlin T. of Longmeadow, United States
Reviewed:   October 18, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2007     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The FLeetwood house was very nice. It was clean and well kept. THe bedroom was small but adequate. It did not have a private bath, nor did it appear that there were any rooms with private baths. We were a bit dissappointed that the bed was not re-made after our first night (we were only there 2 nights) but the breakfasts were very good. The hospitality was very welcoming and cheerful. The house is i bit out of the mainstream but easy to get to downtown from.


Previous 10 results  21 - 29 of 29 reviews




USAInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us